Great Falls Historical Society Elections Held

Monday, May 29, 2017 2:10 PM | Deleted user

By Glen Sjoblom
Great Falls Historical Society

On May 24 the Historical Society elected its Officers and Board of Directors for next year.  Outgoing President Kathleen Murphy received two rounds of applause and some nice flowers thanking her for her leadership the past six years.  Incoming President Glen Sjoblom is pictured between Kathleen Murphy and Jackie Olin, also a past President of the Society.

The newly elected also include Doug Cobb, Vice President and Treasurer; Betty Swartz, Corresponding Secretary and past Tibbetts Award Winner; Susan Kawmy, Recording Secretary, and Directors John Marciano, Hariett Destler, Karin Grasso, Janice Schar, Sondra Taylor and Katie Whitman.

Around the table are Alex Brudno, Spencer Brudno, Caroline Ralston, Kathleen Murphy and her daughter, Mariaka Tsombikos.   Karin Grasso, pictured separately, is the owner of the historic Jesse Smith house on Seneca Road.

The Historical Society began 40 years ago; Programs begin in September, and the new Board plans to continue its tradition of inviting excellent history speakers, historical research, preservation and historic tours.  Please join us!   You can do so on line at

Pictures courtesy of TR Cook

The Great Falls Historical Society is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization

Email Us

search site

P.O. Box 56
Great Falls, VA  22066

Powered by Wild Apricot. Try our all-in-one platform for easy membership management